People

Professor SeungNam Cha, Email: seungnam.cha@eng.ox.ac.uk 

He is an Associate Professor in Department of Engineering Science at University of Oxford. He worked as a principal senior research scientist at Samsung Electronics and Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, a central research institute of Samsung Group for 17 years before he joined in University of Oxford at 2012. His research interests are nanoelectronics, solar cell, mechanical energy harvesting, and optoelectronic/lighting devices based on low dimensional functional nanomaterials.

Dr. Jung Inn Sohn, Email: junginn.sohn@eng.ox.ac.uk 

He is a Senior Research Fellow (Academic Staff) in Engineering Science. He was formerly a Senior Researcher at Samsung and University of CambridgeHis research has concern the synthesis of new nanoscale materials, exploration of fundamental physical properties and new functions, and the development of novel nanoscale devices. He leads a research team on designing, developing, characterizing new functional materials for energy storage/conversion devices and nanoelectronics/optoelectronics.

Jocelyne El Murr, Email: jocelyne.elmurr@eng.ox.ac.uk  

Jocelyne is the NST Group’s Finance Administrator. Working closely with the members of NST as well as the Finance Department, Jo’s responsibilities include the financial management of projects where budgets are prepared, expenditure is monitored and financial reports are produced. In addition to the monitoring of the financial activities, Jo fulfils the purchasing needs of team members, as well as the payment of invoices for costs incurred by their busy research activities

Dr. Bo Hou, Email: bo.hou@eng.ox.ac.uk

His current research interests include quantum dot optoelectronic applications, microscopy and dynamic charge transfer analysis.

Dr. Sanghyo Lee, Email: sanghyo.lee@eng.ox.ac.uk 

Dr. Young-Woo Lee, Email: young-woo.lee@eng.ox.ac.uk

His current research interest focuses on the development of highly efficient nanoelectrodes with multi-dimensional nanostructures for energy conversion/storage devices.

Dr. A-Rang Jang, Visiting Post-Doc

 

[Dphil (PhD) students] 

Juwon Lee, Email: juwon.lee@eng.ox.ac.uk 

Yuljae Cho, Email: yuljae.cho@eng.ox.ac.uk

Yuljae’s interests are green energy generation system using piezo/ferroelectric and photovoltaic effect and piezo/ferroelectric field effect on semiconductor materials and devices.

John Hong, Email: john.hong@eng.ox.ac.uk

John is interested in electrochemistry, nano-structure material synthesis and its application in energy generation and storage system.

Paul Giraud, Email: paul.giraud@eng.ox.ac.uk

Sangyeon Pak, Email: sangyeon.pak@eng.ox.ac.uk

Sangyeon’s research interest is manly focused on synthesis and fabrication of two-dimensional materials, exploration of their new fundamental properties, and development of novel nanoscale optoelectronic devices.

 

[Alumni]

Professor Jong Min Kim, PhD, Email: jmk71@hermes.cam.ac.uk

Jong Min Kim is a Professor of Electrical Engineering in 1944 at University of Cambridge and was the Chair of Electrical Engineering at the University of Oxford from 2012 to 2016. He is also an external advisor/supervisor of NST group. Prof. Kim was formerly Senior Vice President for Technology at Samsung Electronics (1999-2012). His research is described in more than 550 journal papers/proceedings (including 8 Nature/Science, and Nature family journals), 253 patents worldwide. He is responsible for a number of world firsts: CQD based LEDs and displays, LED on glass, CNT field emission high definition displays, and transparent and flexible graphene electrode. He managed commercialization of LCD, PDP, OLED, and LEDs in Samsung. OLED and LEDs were largely started by Prof Kim’s team. He has also managed many high technology trans-national projects including the EU academia-industry project TakOff  (Framework 6 project-IST2000-28519, €10.5 million); major Samsung collaborations with Stanford University (2003-2011), Dupont R&D Centre (2001-2006) and 3M R&D Centre (2004-2009) in US, Toray (2004-2009) in Japan and the Chinese Academy of Science (2003-2010) in China. Recently, he was awarded an ERC advanced grant (2013-2018, “Universal Framework for charge Transport in Quantum Dot Systems”) to study fundamental science/technology for energy/charge transport dynamics in CQD systems and is an overall PI and Project coordinator of Horizon2020, 1D-NEON.

Dr. Gooyeon Hwang, National Research Foundation (NRF) of Korea

Dr. Jong Bae Park, Korea Basic Science Institute

Professor Tae-Lim Choi, Seoul National University

Dr. Byung-Sung Kim, LG electronics