Winners of the 2012 IET Ambition and Achievement Awards

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), Europe’s largest membership organisation for engineers and technicians and the largest engineering institution in the UK, recently held its annual Healthcare Technologies Network Lecture and its Ambition and Achievement Awards ceremony in London.

Professor Lionel Tarassenko CBEThe Lecture was given by Professor Lionel Tarassenko CBE, founder Director of the Department’s Institute of Biomedical Engineering. The prize winners of the Ambition and Achievement Awards were two researchers from the Department of Engineering Science: Mr Alistair Johnson, who received the Healthcare Technologies Network William James Award and Dr Julien Oster, who won the IET Healthcare Technologies Network J A Lodge Award.

Nigel Fine, Chief Executive of the IET, said: “After an incredible year that saw the UK’s engineering ability showcased to the world, we are proud to acknowledge the next generation of engineers and technicians. The Ambition Awards celebrate the incredible wealth of talent this country has to offer, particularly the achievements of talented young students who I believe will go on to become great ambassadors for UK engineering”.

Dr Julien OsterDr Julien Oster was awarded the J. A. Lodge prize, which recognises promising early-career electrical engineers working in biomedical engineering. This Award is presented annually in memory of James Alec Lodge, who took an active interest in encouraging young engineers working in the electrical engineering profession. The Award is made available through Mrs. E. Lodge in memory of her late husband.

In addition to a certificate and annual membership of the IET, Julien was awarded a prize of £500.

Julien is currently a Royal Society Newton International Fellow working in the Institute of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Oxford. His current research focuses on the development of statistical signal processing techniques for the removal of blood flow artifacts in cardiac electrophysiological data recorded during magnetic resonance imaging.

Alistair JohnsonMr Alistair Johnson was awarded the William James Award. This Award is presented to the student whose PhD research shows the most potential to contribute toward the development and improvement of the biomedical engineering field. This award was instated by Dr Christopher J James, of Warwick University, in honour of his late father.

The Award is presented to encourage, support and recognise outstanding work of PhD students demonstrating a high level of commitment and advanced understanding of biomedical engineering.

Alistair received a prize of £400, a plaque and a certificate of recognition.

Alistair received his Bachelor of Engineering at McMaster University, Canada, and is currently reading for his Doctor of Philosophy in the Centre for Doctoral Training in Healthcare Innovation at Oxford University.

As a member of the Intelligent Patient Monitoring group, Alistair has devoted his research efforts toward medical prediction systems with the aim of synthesizing complex patient physiology into clinically interpretable severity metrics for use in improving patient care.

For more information about IET Awards please visit: