The 2012 Sir Henry Royce Award for Technical Innovation

Dr Marko Bacic (and his colleagues Stephen Garner and Arthur Rowe), who works for Rolls-Royce and is an Oxford University Research Lecturer, recently received the prestigious 2012 Sir Henry Royce Award for Technical Innovation for work on model-based detection system for confirmation of Intermediate Pressure (IP) shaft failure on three-spool engines.

2012 Sir Henry Royce Award for Technical Innovation Winners
From left to right: Marko Bacic, Stephen Garner, Arthur Rowe (winners of the 2012 Sir Henry Royce Award) and Mr John Rishton (CEO Rolls-Royce)
This highest company award, recently presented by Mr John Rishton, Rolls-Royce CEO, is aimed at recognising teams and individuals whose pioneering ideas and innovative feats of engineering are improving the organisation's products and services.

All divisions of Rolls-Royce (Civil Aerospace, Defence Aerospace, Energy, Marine, Nuclear), its suppliers and a global network of 28 University Technology Centres are eligible for this award.

This is the second time that a member of this Department has won the award, with Professor Lionel Tarassenko, FREng, CBE and his team receiving the 2001 Award (then called the Chairman’s Award) for their research on jet engine health monitoring systems.

Sir Frederick Henry Royce, 1st Baronet, OBE (27 March 1863 – 22 April 1933) was the pioneering car manufacturer, who with Charles Stewart Rolls, founded the Rolls-Royce company.

Dr Bacic’s research interests include active control of turbine tip clearance, active flow control and control of fluid-structure interactions. Dr Bacic is keen to hear from 3rd and 4th year undergraduates interested in aerospace engineering and wishing to pursue 4th year/DPhil projects in the Department or employment opportunities with Rolls-Royce. He can be contacted via e-mail: