Lubbock Day 2012: Thursday, 24th May

With the London Olympics just a couple of months from now and the Olympic torch relay underway, this year’s 38th Maurice Lubbock Memorial Lecture provided a fascinating insight into the construction of the multi-billion pound London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Park.

Lubbock day 2012 - Speaker plus notaries
Pictured from left to right are: Professor Guy Houlsby (Head of the Department of Engineering Science); Lord Avebury (Chairman of the Lubbock Trust); Mr Howard Shiplee CBE (Executive Director with Laing O’Rourke).
The Lubbock Lecture was given by Mr Howard Shiplee CBE, who was the Olympic Delivery Authority (ODA) Director of Construction and the man behind Britain’s largest ever sports project.  Today, Howard Shiplee is an Executive Director with Laing O’Rourke, an internationally-focused engineering enterprise, responsible for some of the world’s most iconic buildings.

Howard Shiplee’s lecture, titled: “London 2012 – Engineering Success” highlighted the enormous responsibility for controlling costs, design and the actual legacy of the site for London and the UK. He said: “We are now a beacon of hope and continuing success, demonstrating on a world stage what our industry can do, and importantly keeping alive and keeping secure a huge amount of technical, managerial and organisational expertise that resides in the industry across all our disciplines. For me this is a showcase for UK plc on the world stage”.

Over 150 attended this year’s Maurice Lubbock Memorial Lecture. They included academics, alumni, students and representatives from industry and government, as well as a number of pupils and teachers from schools in Oxfordshire.

With special thanks to the Trustees of the Maurice Lubbock Memorial Trust for their continued support.

The video of Howard Shiplee’s lecture is available to view online.


Continuing the Olympic leitmotif, Dr Jessica Leitch gave a mini-lecture titled: “Treating and preventing running injuries – the technical approach”.

In addition, Dr Budimir Rosic gave a mini-lecture on: “Current trends in Computational fluid dynamics for accelerating gas turbine design”.

The 4th Year Undergraduate Project Poster/Hardware Exhibition

Guests attending the Lubbock Lecture had the opportunity to visit the 4th Year undergraduate project exhibition. Established in 2001, the exhibition this year included a range of posters and hardware.

Lubbock Day 2012: Judges
Dr Cathy Ye from the Department of Engineering Science is seen here with judges: David McCabe; Sharan Gill; Dave Barrett-Payton; Philippa Hawkes.
The judges, all of whom were alumni of the Department of Engineering Science and now working in industry, were: Dave Barrett-Payton (University College/Exxon Mobil); David McCabe (Balliol College/Mirada Medical);Sharan Gill (Balliol College/Transport for London);Philippa Hawkes (St Catherine's College/Mars Chocolate UK).

Prizes were awarded to:

  • Joel Harland (Worcester College) – The Laing O’Rourke Best Civil and Construction Engineering Award
    Wooden mutually supporting element structures
  • Oliver Montague (St John’s College) - Sharp Electronics Prize
    The world’s first meta-material motor
  • Dan Withers (New College) - ARM Prize for Digital Technology
    Entity detection in laser data
  • Emily O’Toole (Jesus College) – Sony Image Processing Prize
    Morphology of the bones of the foot using CT scans
  • Alexander Lunt (Christ Church College) – GSK Excellence in Communication of Engineering Innovation Award, which was the best presentation prize
    How do we analyse residual stresses at the micro-scale?
  • Gareth Jones (New College) – The Best Biomedical Engineering Award
    Optimising production of 3D scaffolds for human embryonic stem cell cultures
  • Chongyang Du (St Hilda’s) – The Best Chemical Engineering Award
    Spray freeze drying
  • Hannah Cutmore-Scott (Christ Church College) – The Best Mechanical Engineering Award
    Bioplastics: the next generation of plastics?
  • Jyi Sheuan Ten (University College) – The Best Thermofluids Award
    Investigation of unsteady cooling mechanisms for gas turbines
  • Daniel Garnett (Worcester College) - The Best Hardware Award
    A Small, Stable Platform For Satellite Communications Antennas”.

Many thanks to all judges, and 4th Year undergraduates who took part.

Lubbock Day 2012: Prize winners and sponsors
Pictured above are the prize winners and representatives of sponsors together with Mr Howard Shiplee (front row : centre).

With special thanks to the following sponsors for donating prizes: