First winners of the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

The first winners of the £1 million Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering are five engineers who created the Internet and the World Wide Web. The announcement was made by Lord Browne of Madingley in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal at the Royal Academy of Engineering on 18 March 2013. The winners will come to London in June 2013 for the formal presentation of the prize by Her Majesty The Queen.

The winners are Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf and Louis Pouzin for their contributions to the protocols that make up the fundamental architecture of the Internet, Tim Berners-Lee who created the World Wide Web and Marc Andreessen who wrote the Mosaic browser.

The winners of the £1 million prize were selected by a distinguished and eminent panel of judges from across the world.

Queen Elizabeth Prize logoThe Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering is a new global engineering prize that recognises outstanding advances in engineering that have changed the world and benefited humanity. The prize celebrates the best and also serves to illuminate the sheer excitement of modern engineering.

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering Foundation has overall responsibility for the prize and the board of trustees is chaired by Lord Browne of Madingley. The day-to-day running of the prize is managed by the Queen Elizabeth Prize team at The Royal Academy of Engineering.

For more information go to: